boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
Women's Soccer - Tue, Oct. 23, 2007
Viewed 7369 times
Martin Methodist Wins Fourth Consecutive Tournament Title

PULASKI, Tenn. - The Martin Methodist College Women’s Soccer team captured their fourth straight TranSouth Conference Tournament Title today with a 1-0 win over Bethel College.

The RedHawks beat Lyon College in the semi-final game 6-2 to advance to the tournament finals. Bethel beat Union University 3-0 in the semi-finals.

In the semi-final match against Lyon the RedHawks jumped on the Pipers quick with Julia Bazi scoring in the 7th minute. Lisa Mann, Marcia Silva, and Shannon Walter would all score in the first half to give MMC the 4-0 lead at the half. Amanda Johansson and Walter would score again in 2nd half to give the RedHawks six total goals. Walter tallied two assists, while Johansson and Emily Allegood also had an assist.

In the TranSouth Tournament Finals Martin Methodist faced a tough Bethel College squad. Both teams were battling from end to end in the beginning of the game when the RedHawks took it down field and forced the Wildcats keeper off of her line. Jessica White passed to Lisa Mann who shot in the open net for the RedHawks game winner in the 25th minute of the game. The RedHawks and Wildcats each had shots come close but the defense and goalkeepers kept the ball out of the net. Bethel’s Ugo Opara had four saves and MMC’s Sarah Prendergast had two saves.

Victoria Charnley, Jessica White, Clare Sykes, Amanda Johansson Emily Allegood are five seniors on Martin Methodist College’s team that have played all four years for the RedHawks. This special group has won four straight TranSouth Regular Season Conference Titles and four consecutive TranSouth Conference Tournament Titles. This set of seniors currently has an overall record of 70-12-3 and are undefeated in the TranSouth Conference with a record of 32-0. Against TranSouth opponents their teams have scored 259 goals and have only had 10 goals scored on them in the past four seasons. They have been to the National Tournament three times and are on track for a fourth. The RedHawks won the National Championship in 2005. MMC’s goalkeeper Sarah Prendergast is also a senior this year and has been apart of the RedHawks team for the last three seasons.

With the TranSouth Conference Tournament win they will move on and represent the TranSouth Athletic Conference in the Region XI tournament on November 5th and 6th at Lindsey Wilson College.

TranSouth Women's Soccer Home Page and Standings

2007-2008 TranSouth Tournament Seeds


2007-2008 TranSouth Tournament Schedule
Check here for weather related delays. Updated information will be here as soon as possible.

First Round - Tuesday, October 23
#1 Martin Methodist & #2 Bethel College receive a bye

#3 Union University def. #6 Cumberland University 7-0
#4 Lyon College def #5 Lambuth University 3-1

Semifinals - Saturday, October 27
@ Martin Methodist East Campus Soccer Field

#1 Martin Methodist def. #4 Lyon College 6-2
#2 Bethel College def. #3 Union University 3-0
Finals - Sunday, October 28
@ Martin Methodist East Campus Soccer Field

#1 Martin Methodist def #2 Bethel College 1-0
Championship Match - Martin Methodist 2007-2008 TranSouth Champions

2007-2008 TranSouth All-Conference Team

Player of the Year

Amanda Johannson - Martin Methodist

Senior - Midfielder - Sala, Sweden

Freshman of the Year

Tatiane Alexio - Martin Methodist

Freshman - Defender - Jundiai, Brazil

Coach of the Year

Gerry Cleary - Martin Methodist

First Team


Sara Perrigan MMC Junior Nashville, Tenn.

Shannon Walter MMC Sophomore Chicago, Ill.

Leah O Grady Bethel Senior Mt. Pearl, New Foundland

Caitlin Zimmerman Union Junior Lebanon, Tenn.


Amanda Johansson MMC Senior Sala, Sweden

Clare Sykes MMC Senior Huddersfield, England

Marika Fukuta Bethel Junior Tokyo, Japan

Aurora Alba Lyon Junior Las Vegas, Nev.


Philisha Lewis Bethel Junior Kingston, Jamaica

Victoria Charnley MMC Senior Manchester, England

Sam Gase Union Freshman Allen, Texas

Lisa Mann MMC Junior Sunderland, England


Ugo Opara Bethel Senior San Antonio, Texas

Laura Pla Union Sophomore Nashville, Tenn.

Second Team


Angelique Armenta Lyon Senior Tucson, Ariz.

Sarah Ruegger Lyon Junior Gainesville, Fla.

Kassie Evick TNU Sophomore Middletown, Ohio

Carla Chambers Bethel Junior St. Catherine, Jamaica


Brooke Walker Union Sophomore Niceville, Fla.

Eboni Murphy Union Freshman Collierville, Tenn.

Lauren Wagner Lambuth Senior Huntsville, Ala.

Melissa Odell Lyon Junior Tucson, Ariz.


Kimmarley Chin Bethel Sophomore St. Catherine, Jamaica

Tamami Ito Bethel Junior Osaka, Japan

Heather Palmer Lyon Senior Arlington, Texas

Ashlee Rimmelin Lambuth Junior Friendswood, Texas


Karen Carmack MMC Junior Benton, Ky.

Alicia McPherson Lambuth Junior Duncanville, Texas

2007-2008 TranSouth Scholar-Athlete Team

Bethel College

Lindsey Butler - Senior - Jackson, Tenn.

Chastity Fortenberry – Senior - Crockett County, Tenn.

Kathryn Vasconcellos - Senior - Miami, Fla.

Deanna Flores – Junior - Abilene, Texas

Sarah Halsall – Junior - Lanshire, England

Tamami Ito – Junior - Osaka, Japan

Florence Iweta – Junior - Nigeria

Philisha Lewis – Junior - Jamaica

Kendall Nuffer – Junior - Dallas, Texas

Chelsea Sheahan – Junior - Skawnee, Kan.

Kimmarley Chin – Sophomore - St. Catherine, Jamaica

Candace Salcido – Sophomore - Portland, Tenn.

Tashana Taylor – Sophomore – Jamaica

Crichton College

Sara Harrison – Junior - Nemarket, Ontario

Cumberland University

Susan Simpson – Sophomore – Portland, Tenn.

Juliana Fernandes Senior - Florianopolis, Brazil

Sarah Rienzo, Senior – Kalamazoo, Mich.

Stephanie Robell – Senior – Dearborn Heights, Mich.

Lindsey Smith – Senior – Lebanon, Tenn.


Laurie Bennie – Junior - Antioch, Tenn.

Cassie Messina – Junior - Clarksville, Tenn.

Hannah Peck – Junior - Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Sandie Tiensvold – Junior - Independence, Mo.

Stephanie Fields – Junior - Benton, Ky.

Anna Thompson – Sophomore - Jackson, Tenn.

Lori Walker – Sophomore - Benton, Ky.

Lambuth University

Connie Hanson – Junior - Clarksville, Tenn.

Alicia McPherson – Junior - Duncanville, Texas

Ashlee Rimmelin – Junior - Friendswood, Texas

Kerry Schwamb – Junior - Tullahoma, Tenn.

Lesley Ann Thorpe – Junior - Ontario, Canada

Karina Lasso – Sophomore - Lebanon, Tenn.

Jessie Metcalf – Sophomore - Jackson, Tenn.

Lyon College

Heather Palmer – Senior - Arlington, Texas

Rita Brown – Junior - Huntington Beach, Calif.

Marisa Browne – Junior - Lakewood, Calif.

Megan Rossee – Junior - Lakewood, Calif.

Amanda Cornyn – Sophomore - Lafayette, La.

Martin Methodist

Victoria Charnley – Senior - Manchester, England

Amanda Johansson – Senior - Hyttgatan, Sweden

Jessica White – Senior - Manchester, Tenn.

Karen Carmack – Junior - Benton, Ky.

Sara Perrigan – Junior - Nashville, Tenn.

Kelly Glaser – Sophomore - Chicago, Ill.

Trevecca Nazarene

Courtney Helton – Senior - College Grove, Tenn.

Lilian Mwangi – Senior - Nairobi, Kenya

Heather Olson – Senior - Mt. Juliet, Tenn.

Anne Opana – Senior - Nairobi, Kenya

Kimberly Price – Senior - Franklin, Tenn.

Kimberly Goodson – Junior - Melbourne, Fla.

Brittany Argabright – Sophomore - Vinton, Va.

Allison Casalenuovo – Sophomore - Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Kassie Evick – Sophomore - Middletown, Ohio

Jennifer Goodson – Sophomore - Melbourne, Fla.

Lindsey Zurlinden – Sophomore - Weaverville, N.C.

Union University

Amy Anderson – Senior - Coeurd’Alene, Idaho

Caitlin Zimmerman – Junior - Lebanon, Tenn.

Alicia Bennett – Sophomore - Columbus, Ind.

Candice Blackard – Sophomore - Collierville, Tenn.

Katelin Dirksen – Sophomore - Abbotsford, B.C.

Katie Moser – Sophomore - Bartlett, Tenn.

Jill Landers – Sophomore - Collierville, Tenn.

Emily Rawls – Sophomore - Cordova, Tenn.

Roxanna Skelton – Sophomore - Collierville, Tenn.

Brooke Walker – Sophomore - Niceville, Fla.

Abigail Williams – Sophomore - Crossville, Tenn.