boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
Men's Golf - Tue, Apr. 21, 2009
Viewed 6395 times
Tournament Recap

DICKSON, Tenn. - Cumberland University's Josh Young led the Bulldogs to the 2009 TranSouth Men's Golf Championship. Young carded a (77-68-78) 223 to take the Medalist honors. Cumberland University won the tournament with a (306-294-315) 915. Trevecca's Joey Bradley earned the TranSouth Freshman of the Year award with a (70-75-85) 230. Scott Wilkerson of Cumberland was named the 2009 TranSouth Coach of the Year.Undo


The 54-hole TranSouth Athletic Conference Men's Golf Championships were played at the Greystone Golf Course in Dickson, Tenn.


There were six teams and 30 golfers competing. The course played to a par of 72 over 6858 yards. The entire tournament was played in difficult weather conditions. Rain, wind and cold tested the entire tournament field.


Martin Methodist shot a (308-317-316) 941 to finish second. The rest of the team results were; Bethel College (309-305-329) 943, Union University (311-312-320) 943, Trevecca (299-318-337) 954, and Lyon College (334-330-318) 982.


The All-TranSouth team includes; Josh Young (Cumberland), Logan Pressnell (Martin) with a (73-77-75) 225, Mills Hamaguchi (Union) carded a (75-77-75) 227, Joey Bradley (Trevecca), Adam Maxwell (Cumberland) tallied a (76-72-83) 231, and Beau Brown (Bethel) at (75-74-83) 232.


Cumberland will advance to the 59th Annual NAIA Men's Golf National Championships to be held May 19-22 at the TPC Deer Run in Silvis, Illinois.

The course architect was Mark McCumber and opened in 1998. Former PGA Pro Bob Wolcott was the original Golf Pro at the course. The course has hosted several significant events in its short history. It was the home to the Men's and Women's Tennessee State Open from 1999-2003. It has also hosted  U.S. Open First Round Qualifying twice, the home of the Monday Qualifying for the BellSouth Senior PGA Tournament, and
the home of the 2004 1st Stage PGA Tour School Qualifying.

Scoreboard:  Click Combo Scoreboard  Click for Individual Scoreboard Click for Team Scoreboard
Photos:  Click for tournament photos - All-Teams - Trevecca

TranSouth Tournament History:   | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 |  
Tournament Information

Dickson Weather Link
Dickson, Tennessee Information
Course information & directions
GreyStone Scorecard
TranSouth Men's Golf Tournament Policies
TranSouth Golf Tournament Details
Tournament Pairings:  Day One - Day Two 
Greystone Golf Course
2555 Hwy 70 East
Dickson, Tenn. 37055
Phone: 615.446.0044

All-TranSouth/All-Tournament Awards

Team Champion -  Cumberland University
Medalist/Player of the Year -  Josh Young, Cumberland
All-Tournament/All-TranSouth -  Josh Young (CU), Logan Pressnell (MMC), Mills Hamaguchi (UU), Joey Bradley (TNU), Adam Maxwell (CU), Beau Brown (BC)
Freshman of the Year -  Joey Bradley, Trevecca
Coach of the Year

TranSouth Men's Golf Scholar-Athletes

Bethel College

Cumberland University
Benton Hart, Tim Hill, Adam Maxwell

Lyon College
Bradley Biggers, Christopher Campbell, Aaron Crawford, Seth Johnson

Martin Methodist
Neylan Roberts, Derik Elmore

Trevecca Nazarene

Will Scism, Clifton Smith, Josh Fields


Union University

Stephen Brooks, Jake Carroll, Matt Kelley, Tyler Lay, Andrew Mangrum, Clay Mallard, Ben Ayris

2009 NAIA Men's Golf Championships

58th Annual Men's Golf Championships
May 19-22, 2009
TPC Deere Run
Silvis, Illinois

Click for NAIA Championships Information

History of Individual Medalists

Josh Young, Cumberland
 Clay Mallard, Union University 
Beau Brown, Bethel College
Micheal Shinn, Cumberland
Barry Conaster, Cumberland
Roger Cook, Union University


Matt Robertson, Lee University

History of Team Champions

Cumberland University
 Union University
Bethel College
Union University
Cumberland University
Lee University



Rain Policy

  • The completion of 18 holes will determine a team champion and individual champion if play is suspended.

  • If weather allows the tournament may proceed with the understanding that 9 hole increments may be used to determine a champion if all teams play the same 9 holes.
  • Should weather dictate the tournament to be canceled the declared winner will be the highest nationally ranked team in the tournament.
  • If no teams are nationally ranked the highest seed in the region will be declared the winner.