boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
Baseball - Sat, Apr. 30, 2011
Viewed 3308 times
JACKSON, Tenn. - The 2011 TranSouth Conference baseball postseason awards have been released. Martin Methodist (Tenn.) College senior Travis Garcia has been selected as the TranSouth Player of the Year. Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.) University head coach Jonathan Burton earns the TranSouth Coach of the Year.

Garcia, a 5-foot-11 senior from Nolensville, Tenn., started at third base for the RedHawks and was also a starting pitcher. Garcia was named to the first team all-conference list as a third baseman and was voted second team all-conference as a starting pitcher. Garcia hit .399 with 29 RBI and four home runs this season, while also posting a 6-2 record with a 3.21 ERA in 11 starts on the mound.

Burton, in his third season as head coach of the Trojans, takes home his first coach of the year honor. Burton led the Trojans to a 34-20 overall record and an 18-6 conference record. His team is the No. 2 seed in the conference tournament after finishing seventh last season and not qualifying for the tournament.

2011 TranSouth Baseball All-Conference Awards (Printable PDF)

Player of the Year: Travis Garcia, Martin Methodist College (photo)
Coach of the Year: Jonathan Burton, Trevecca Nazarene University (photo)
Regular Season Champion: Cumberland University (photo)

First Team All-Conference (photo)
Catcher:  David Fanshawe, Cumberland University
Catcher:  Doug Joyce, Union University
First Base:  Mitch McClay, Trevecca Nazarene University
Second Base:  Tommy Crews, Cumberland University
Third Base:  Travis Garcia, Martin Methodist College
Shortstop:  Craig Massey, Bethel University
Extra Infielder: Chad Reynolds, Trevecca Nazarene University
Outfield:  Chris Cain, Bethel University
Outfield:  Cory Farris, Cumberland University
Outfield:  Jordan Foreman, Trevecca Nazarene University
Outfield:  Matt Tidwell, Trevecca Nazarene University
Designated Hitter:  Mike Mandarino, Cumberland University
Starting Pitcher:  Jared Davis, Union University
Starting Pitcher:  Will Locante, Cumberland University
Starting Pitcher:  Jeremey Stack, Union University
Starting Pitcher:  Aaron Wilkerson, Cumberland University
Relief Pitcher:  Dylan Kuhn, Trevecca Nazarene University

Second Team All-Conference (photo)
Catcher:  Leamond Arthur, Freed-Hardeman University
Catcher:  Kyle Kallsnick, Lyon College
First Base:  Greg Appleton, Cumberland University
Second Base:  Cody Crocker, Bethel University
Third Base:  Cole McAdams, Union University
Third Base:  TJ Murphy, Cumberland University
Shortstop:  Tommy Winegardner, Cumberland University
Extra Infielder: Celtic Rush, Bethel University
Outfield:  Tony Allen, Martin Methodist College
Outfield:  Michael Armenteros, Lyon College
Outfield:  Seth Kennedy, Blue Mountain College
Outfield:  Nathan Lawrence, Mid-Continent University
Outfield:  Jay Lowery, Bethel University
Designated Hitter:   Jordan Stack, Bethel University
Starting Pitcher:  Travis Garcia, Martin Methodist College
Starting Pitcher:  Josh McNatt, Lyon College
Starting Pitcher:  Craig Stem, Trevecca Nazarene University
Starting Pitcher:  Joey Wilder, Bethel University
Relief Pitcher:  Hunter Burge, Mid-Continent University
Rawlings Gold Glove Team (photo)
Pitcher:  Colby Fitzpatrick, Bethel University
Catcher:  Doug Joyce, Union University
First Base:  Mike Gizewski, Martin Methodist College
Second Base:  Cody Crocker, Bethel University
Third Base:  Cole McAdams, Union University
Shortstop:  Danny Grimm, Union University
Outfield:  Jordan Forman, Trevecca Nazarene University
Outfield:  Hunter DeBerry, Bethel University
Outfield:  Drew Donnelly, Martin Methodist College