boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
Softball - Mon, May. 2, 2011
Viewed 1935 times
HENDERSON, Tenn. - Regular season conference champion Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.) University and runner-up Union (Tenn.) University had a strong presence in the 2011 TranSouth Conference softball postseason awards, which were announced on Monday, May 2.

TNU's Lauren Baker was named Pitcher of the Year while teammate Haylee Rogers earned Freshman of the Year honors and head coach Ben Tyree was selected as the Coach of the Year.  The Trojans placed a total of eight players on the all-conference squads with six appearing on the first team.

Amber Hayes of Union was voted as the Player of the Year and Tobie Joy was named Newcomer of the Year.  The Lady Bulldogs had seven all-conference players, five of which were first-team selections.

Hayes, a 5-foot-9 senior from Brighton, Tenn., was second in the conference in batting average at .442 while tying for the top spot in RBIs with 50.  She also hit eight home runs and was third in the conference in slugging percentage (.709).

Baker, a 5-foot-5 junior from Hendersonville, Tenn., finished the regular season with a perfect 22-0 record while posting a 1.91 ERA and striking out 123 batters.

Joy, a 5-foot-1 sophomore from Covington, Tenn., batted .390 with 35 runs scored and 13 RBIs.  She also pitched in five games posting a 4-0 record with a 2.14 ERA.

Rogers, a 5-foot-3 freshman from Goodlettsville, Tenn., led the conference in home runs with 15 while hitting .431 and driving in 46 runs.  She had three multi-home runs games this season.

Tyree earned his second consecutive coach of the year award after leading Trevecca to a No. 5 national rating on the strength of its 42-3 overall record.  The Trojans won their fifth regular season championship in six years, posting a 29-1 record in conference play.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Amber Hayes, Union
PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Lauren Baker, Trevecca Nazarene
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Haylee Rogers, Trevecca Nazarene
COACH OF THE YEAR: Ben Tyree, Trevecca Nazarene

Amber Hayes, Union
Lauren Baker, Trevecca Nazarene
Haylee Rogers, Trevecca Nazarene
Kristi Kelley, Lyon
Shelby Lamb, Union
Brooke Thomas, Union
Amber Kinsey, Martin Methodist
Karli Rush, Trevecca Nazarene
Brittany Yates, Freed-Hardeman
Brianna Zeis, Trevecca Nazarene
Allison Blackwood, Cumberland
Tobie Joy, Union
Keaton Kirk, Union
Heather Shuler, Trevecca Nazarene
Jennifer Townson, Bethel
Riley Mashburn, Trevecca Nazarene
Sarah Elizabeth Cousar, Freed-Hardeman
Katlin White, Martin Methodist

Jackie Lloyd, Mid-Continent
Megan Lavery, Cumberland
Stephanie Saunders, Union
C.J. Browder, Union
Kelsey Lantrip, Trevecca Nazarene
Haylei Plummer, Blue Mountain
Sarah Knudson, Lyon
Stephanie Gutierrez, Cumberland
CaSarah Gilliam, Cumberland
Samantha Queen, Martin Methodist
Molly Hargrove, Mid-Continent
Leah Hensley, Bethel
Kari Mason, Trevecca Nazarene
Sam Sagely, Blue Mountain