boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
TranSouth - Thu, Jun. 9, 2011
Viewed 5517 times
NASHVILLE, Tenn.- The Union University athletic department has been awarded the TranSouth Athletic Conference All-Sports Trophy for the 2010-11 season. This marks the eighth straight season that Union has claimed the trophy and the ninth time in the past ten seasons.

Union claimed or shared six conference titles in the 2010-11 season including women's cross country, men's cross country, women's basketball, men's basketball, volleyball and men's golf. The Union Bulldogs and Lady Bulldogs competed in 10 sports with all 10 teams finishing in at least a tie for third place.

Freed-Hardeman finished in the runner-up position for the second time in the last three seasons. Cumberland moved up to the third position. It is the highest finish for Cumberland since their third place finish in the 2005-2006 season.

2010-11 TranSouth All-Sports Final Standings
No. School - Average (Conference Titles)
Union University (Tenn.) - 7.300 (6)
Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) - 5.556
Cumberland University (Tenn.) - 5.389 (1)
Bethel University (Tenn.) - 5.273 (2)
Martin Methodist (Tenn.) - 5.250 (2)
Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.) - 4.455 (1)
Lyon College (Ark.) - 3.611
Mid-Continent (Ky.) - 3.143
Blue Mountain (Miss.) - 2.571

The TranSouth All-Sports Trophy is awarded to the program that produces the most success during the school year in all sports. Points are awarded for how each team finishes in the regular season standings in each sport. Then, the point total for each school is divided by the number of sports the school participated to reach the average. The TranSouth sponsors 13 sports and all 13 qualified for the trophy standings with at least four teams participating in each sport.

History of TranSouth All-Sports Trophy
2010-11: Union University - Press Release
2009-10: Union University - Press Release
2008-09: Union University - Press Release
2007-08: Union University - Press Release
2006-07: Union University - Press Release
2005-06: Union University - Press Release
2004-05: Union University - Press Release
2003-04: Union University
2002-03: Lee University
2001-02: Union University
2000-01: Lee University *
* first year trophy awarded