boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
Men's Basketball - Mon, Oct. 31, 2011
Viewed 1010 times
NASHVILLE, Tenn. - The TranSouth Athletic Conference announces its 10-member 2011 TranSouth Men's Basketball All-Preseason team. The 2011 team, voted on by league coaches, features James Justice of Martin Methodist College as the 2011 Preseason TranSouth Player of the Year.
Justice, a 5-foot-10 senior from Memphis, Tenn., received 69 points, eight better than Kyle Teichmann of Freed-Hardeman. Fellow RedHawks Ree McCrory and LaQuantis Stewart join Justice on the preseason team.

The other six members of the 2011 preseason team are; Chris Ferguson (Mid-Continent), Antoine Hall and Skyler Vaden of Union University, Michael Sweat (Cumberland University), Jarvis Palmer (Bethel University), and Slater Belew (Lyon College).
Justice led Martin Methodist to a 34-3 record last season, and a trip to the NAIA Semifinals. The RedHawks are the defending TranSouth regular season and tournament champions. MMC was 14-2 in TranSouth play last season. Justice also earned the 2011 TranSouth Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year awards. Justice, a NAIA First Team All-American last year, averaged 15 points, 5.9 rebounds, five assists, and 2.4 steals per game as a junior.

Teichmann, a 6-foot-six junior forward from Brentwood, Tenn., was a third-team NAIA All-American last season. Teichmann, also a first-team TranSouth All-Conference selection, averaged 19.7 points and 7.9 rebounds per game last year.

2011 TranSouth Men's Basketball
Preseason All-Conference Team
Player ... Votes
*James Justice (Martin Methodist) ... 69
Kyle Teichmann (Freed-Hardeman) ... 61
Ree McCrory (Martin Methodist) ... 50
Chris Ferguson (Mid-Continent) ... 46
LaQuantis Stewart (Martin Methodist) ... 45
Antoine Hall (Union University) ... 39
Michael Sweat (Cumberland University) ... 37
Jarvis Palmer (Bethel University) ... 35
Slater Belew (Lyon College) ... 21
Skyler Vaden (Union University) ... 15
* = Preseason Player of the Year