boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
Women's Soccer - Fri, Nov. 11, 2011
Viewed 1528 times
LEBANON, Tenn. - Regular season co-champion Martin Methodist swept the TranSouth Conference women's soccer postseason honors, with Mor Efraim earning Player of the Year accolades, Linnea Sahlin taking Freshman of the Year honors and Tyson John garnering Coach of the Year.
Efraim, a forward, led six RedHawks players voted First Team All-TranSouth, including Sahlin, another forward, as well as midfielders Yalu Borbolla and Daniel Sofer, defender Hannah Martin and keeper Hanit Schwartz.
Efraim leads the TranSouth and ranks 18th nationally in total goals (16) and 25th in total points (40), while Schwartz leads the league and ranks fourth nationally in goals-against-average (0.39). Martin led a defense that allowed just six goals all season while also scoring a pair of goals.
Sahlin netted four goals and added seven assists in 15 matches and Barbolla recorded five goals and three assists. Sofer led the RedHawks with nine assists and posted four goals in just 11 matches before suffering a season-ending injury.
Union University, also co-champion of the regular season, had three players voted to the First Team - forward Ashlie Watson, midfielder Christiana Reardon and defender Alex Taylor. Watson led the Bulldogs with eight goals and added three assists, while Reardon posted a team-high eight assists with one goal. Taylor helped a defense that gave up just 13 goals in 16 matches this season.
Martin Methodist and Union players claimed nine of the 13 spots on the First Team. Cumberland University's Helena Dimantas Farias, Bethel University's Jessica Coates and Lyon College's Maria Kristjansdottir and Brina Siddiq all earned First Team accolades.
Martin Methodist takes on Union at 3 p.m. Friday in Pulaski, Tenn., in the finals of the TranSouth Championships. The winner claims the league's automatic berth to the NAIA National Tournament .
First Team All-TranSouth
F - Mor Efraim, Martin Methodist, JR - Nevatim, Israel
F - Ashlie Watson, Union Univ., FR - Murfreesboro, Tenn.
F - Linnea Sahlin, Martin Methodist, FR - Porsgunn, Norway
MF - Yalu Borbolla, Martin Methodist, JR - Mexico City, Mexico
MF - Christina Reardon, Union Univ., SR - Nashville, Tenn.
MF - Daniel Sofer, Martin Methodist, JR - Hadera, Israel
MF - Helena Dimantas Farias, Cumberland Univ., SR - Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
D - Hannah Martin, Martin Methodist, SR - Shelbyville, Tenn.
D - Alex Taylor, Union Univ., FR - Franklin, Tenn.
D - Maria Kristjansdottir, Lyon College, SO - Reykavik, Iceland
D - Brina Siddiq, Lyon College, SR - Newport Beach, Calif.
GK - Hanit Schwarz, Martin Methodist, SR - Beer-Sheva, Israel
GK - Jessica Coates, Bethel Univ., SO - Hartlepool, England
Second Team All-TranSouth
F - Anja Klotzle, Lyon College, SR - Altadena, Calif.
F - Rachel Rathbone, Bethel Univ., JR - Winnipeg, Canada
F - Nicole O'Donnell, Martin Methodist, SR - Winnipeg, Canada
MF - Jordan Aliviado, Lyon College, SR - Torrance, Calif.
MF - Julie Bracknell, Freed-Hardeman, SR - Milan, Tenn.
MF - Melissa Sanchez, Lyon College, JR - Mesquite, Texas
MF - Lori Magnesen, Bethel Univ., SR - Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
D - Megan Roney, Union Univ., SO - Barrington, N.J.
D - Jaylene Tye, Bethel Univ., SO - Alberta, Canada
D - Mackenzie Keele, Cumberland Univ., FR - Hendersonville, Tenn.
D - Tori Barraco, Bethel Univ., JR - Ontario, Canada
GK - Emily Warren, Union Univ., SO - Cabot, Ark.
Player of the Year: Mor Efraim, Martin Methodist
Freshman of the Year: Linnea Sahlin, Martin Methodist
Coach of the Year: Tyson John, Martin Methodist