boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
Men's Golf - Fri, Apr. 20, 2012
Viewed 933 times
NASHVILLE, Tenn. - The TranSouth Athletic Conference is pleased to announce that 20 men's golfers have earned the distinction of being named to the 2012 TranSouth Scholar-Athlete team. Union University leads the way with five members on the list. Four of the 20 honorees also qualified for NAIA Scholar Athlete consideration.

The 2012 TranSouth Championships begin on Monday, April 23. Click for tournament information
Blue Mountain (2) Rob Goodson*, Adam Hall
Bethel University (2) Justin Rea, Chris Yeater
Cumberland University (4) Austin Garrett, Dustin Thomas, Paul Vaughan, Austin Whitmer
Freed-Hardeman (2) Bryant Cashion*, Grant James
Martin Methodist (2) Will Walker*, Blake Moore
Trevecca Nazarene (3) Skip Jones, David Saldana, Stephen Williams
Union University (5) Charlie Pittman, Brett Barry, Kyle Long, Ryan Mantooth*, Ben Waits
*NAIA Scholar Athlete

Scholar-Athlete Qualifications:  TranSouth - Recipients must be a sophomore or above in academic standing; have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.00 (on a 4.0 scale).  NAIA - (* = NAIA Scholar-Athlete) Recipients must be a junior or above in academic standing; been in attendance at the nominating institution a minimum of one full year of attendance; have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.50 (on a 4.0 scale).