boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
Women's Basketball - Thu, Feb. 28, 2013
Viewed 1998 times

March 4, 2013 Update

HENDERSON, Tenn. - The No. 1 Freed-Hardeman Lady Lions are the 2013 TranSouth Champions. The #1 NAIA team in the country and top seeded Lions defeated the second-seeded Martin Methodist RedHawks 71-63. FHU is now 31-1 as they will head to the NAIA Championships looking for their first NAIA Championship. The 2013 TSAC title is FHU's fifth tournament title.

March 3, 2013 Update

The 2013 Championship game is set. The top seed and NAIA No. 1 team, Freed-Hardeman, will host Martin Methodist for the championship on Monday, March 4 at 7 p.m. The game will be played at the Sports Center on the FHU campus in Henderson, Tenn. The RedHawks are the No. 2 TranSouth Tournament seed. It is the 11th time the Lions have made the championship game. It is the first appearance in the TSAC championship game. The Lady Lions have won the championship game four times.

Tourney Preview

NAIA No. 1 Freed-Hardeman University won the regular season women's basketball championship, it is the fourth time they won outright or shared the regular season title. With the championship the Lions will hold home-court advantage throughout the tournament. 

The 2013 NAIA Division I Women's Basketball National Championship is in Frankfort, Ky.



1. Freed-Hardeman University
2. Martin Methodist College
3. Blue Mountain College
4. Bethel University
5. Mid-Continent University
(tie-breaker explanations - Bethel, Martin Methodist, and Blue Mountain all tied for second place. All tie-breakers equalled out and a coin-toss was held between the three schools and Martin Methodist was selected second, Blue Mountain third, Bethel fourth)
TranSouth Women's Basketball Standings


Tournament Bracket (PDF)
All games start @ 7:00 p.m.

Quarterfinals Tuesday, February 26, 2013
Game 1:  #4 Bethel University def #5 Mid-Continent (73-48)

Semifinals Friday, March 1, 2013
Game 2:  #1 Freed-Hardeman def. #4 Bethel University (68-54)
Game 3:  #2 Martin Methodist def. #3 Blue Mountain (80-62)

Championship Finals Monday, March 4, 2013
Title Game:  #1 Freed-Hardeman def. #2 Martin Methodist (71-63)

2013 TranSouth Conference All-Tournament Awards
Natalie Shumpert, Freed-Hardeman (MVP)
Ashley Tate, Freed-Hardeman
Becca Smithson, Martin Methodist
Keri O'Neal, Martin Methodist
Alisha Gentry, Bethel
Anna Brooke Page, Blue Mountain

NAIA Division I Women's Basketball Conference Tournaments
DI Women's Basketball Honors
DI Women's Basketball Ratings
2013 NAIA Division I Women's Basketball National Championship

| 2012 Championships | 2011 Championships | 2010 Championships | 2009 Championships | 2008 Championships | 2007 Championships | 2006 Awards |
Awards Story

Player of the Year:  Natalie Shumpert, FHU
Newcomer of the Year: Anna Brooke Page, BMC
Defensive Player of the Year: Ashley Tate, FHU
Freshman of the Year: Jackliann Street, BU
Coach of the Year: Lavon Driskell, BMC

First Team
Natalie Shumpert, FHU 
Jasmine Taylor, BU
Ashley Tate, FHU
Anna Brooke Page, BMC
Stephanie Malone, MCU
Jessy Christopher, MMC
Maria Bagwell, FHU
Alisha Gentry, BU
Jessi Hayles, BMC
Grace Alonso de Armino, FHU
Honorable Mention
Becca Smithson, MMC
Jackliann Street, BU
Amber Alexander, FHU
Kati Prince, BMC
Keri O'Neal, MMC
TranSouth All-Freshman Team     
Jackliann Street, BU 
Natalie Taylor, MCU
Nina Mills, MMC
Lorna Hudson, BU
Jaylin Jones, MCU
Website Story

Scholar-Athlete Qualifications: TranSouth - Recipients must be a sophomore or above in academic standing; have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.00 (on a 4.0 scale).
* = NAIA Scholar-Athlete - Recipients must be a junior or above in academic standing; been in attendance at the nominating institution a minimum of one full year of attendance; have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.50 (on a 4.0 scale).

Bethel University ( ) 
Blue Mountain College ( ) 
Freed-Hardeman University ( ) 
Martin Methodist College ( ) 
Mid-Continent University ( )  
* = NAIA Scholar Athlete
Tournament MVP:

The final four teams in the conference tournament will each have a player. The two teams in the championship game will each have one additional player. A player from the winning team only will be considered for MVP.

TranSouth Women's Basketball Regular Season Champions
2013 - Freed-Hardeman University
2012 - Union University
2011 - Union University
2010 - Union University
2009 - Union University
2008 - Union University
2007 - Union University
2006 - Freed-Hardeman University
2005 - Freed-Hardeman University
2004 - Freed-Hardeman/Union Co-Champions
2003 - Union University
2002 - Union University
2001 - Union University
2000 - Union University
1999 - Union University
1998 - Union University
1997 - Union University

Women's Basketball Tournament Champions
2013 - Freed-Hardeman def. Martin Methodist 71-63
2012 - Union University def. Freed-Hardeman University 55-47
2011 - Union University def. Bethel University 73-49
2010 - Freed-Hardeman def. Union 75-62
2009 - Union University def. Trevecca Nazarene 92-69
2008 - Union University def. Freed-Hardeman 73-62
2007 - Union University def. Trevecca Nazarene 80-66
2006 - Freed-Hardeman def. Trevecca Nazarene 71-64
2005 - Freed-Hardeman def. Union University 87-82 OT
2004 - Freed-Hardeman def. Union University 81-63
2003 - Union University def. Freed-Hardeman 77-72
2002 - Union University def. Trevecca 88-81
2001 - Union University def. Freed-Hardeman 84-64
2000 - Union University def. Trevecca Nazarene 70-51
1999 - Union University def. Lipscomb University 61-53
1998 - Union University def. Freed-Hardeman 82-57
1997 - Union University def. Freed-Hardeman 81-75

Tournament Site: @ Higher Seed - Game times 7 p.m. local time
Tie Breaker Policy