boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
TranSouth - Thu, Jun. 17, 2010
Viewed 3694 times

NASHVILLE, Tenn.- The Union University athletic department has been awarded the TranSouth Athletic Conference All-Sports Trophy for the 2009-10 season. This marks the seventh straight season that Union has claimed the trophy and eighth time in the past nine seasons.

"We offer our deep and heartfelt congratulations to Charles Fowler, Tommy Sadler, the coaches, the staff, and all of the athletes from Union University for winning the TranSouth All-Sports Trophy for the seventh straight year," says Union University President David S. Dockery. "The commitment to excellence on the courts and fields, as well as in the classroom, by the Union athletic program is indeed quite commendable."

Union claimed five conference titles in the 2009-10 season including women's cross country, men's cross country, women's basketball, men's basketball and men's golf. The Union Bulldogs and Lady Bulldogs competed in 10 sports with eight of the 10 teams finishing in first or second place. Union had five first place finishes, three second place finishes, one third place and one seventh place finish.

Union also claimed four TranSouth Tournament championships and participated in six NAIA National Tournaments. The Union women's basketball team captured their second straight NAIA National Title, fourth in the past six years and fifth overall.

Trevecca Nazarene finished second for the fifth time in the last six seasons. The Trojans had one conference title (softball) on the year and three Trojan teams (women's golf, women's basketball, and volleyball) posted a runner-up finish in conference play.

2009-10 TranSouth All-Sports Final Standings
No. School - Average (Conference Titles)
1. Union University (Tenn.) 6.300 (5)
2. Trevecca Nazarene 5.000 (1)
3. Bethel University (Tenn.) 4.727 (2)
4. Martin Methodist 4.667 (1)
5. Freed-Hardeman 4.643 (1)
6. Cumberland (Tenn.) 4.500 (1)
7. Blue Mountain 3.375
8. Lyon College (Ark.) 3.227
9. Mid-Continent 3.083

The TranSouth All-Sports Trophy is awarded to the program that produces the most success during the school year in all sports. Points are awarded for how each team finishes in the regular season standings in each sport. Then, the point total for each school is divided by the number of sports the school participated to reach the average. The TranSouth sponsors 13 sports and all 13 qualified for the trophy standings with at least four teams participating in each sport.

History of TranSouth All-Sports Trophy

2009-10: Union University - Press Release
2008-09: Union University - Press Release
2007-08: Union University - Press Release
2006-07: Union University - Press Release
2005-06: Union University - Press Release
2004-05: Union University - Press Release
2003-04: Union University
2002-03: Lee University
2001-02: Union University
2000-01: Lee University *
* first year trophy awarded