boxTitleLeftTranSouth News
News Photo
Men's Golf - Tue, Apr. 13, 2010
Viewed 4529 times
PICKWICK DAM, Tenn. - The 2010 TranSouth Athletic Conference Men's Golf Championship, a 54-hole Championship event, was played at the Pickwick Landing State Park Golf Course. The course played to a par of 72 over 6483 yards.

The Pickwick Landing State Park Golf Course is located close to the border of Mississippi and Alabama within the proximity of Pickwick Dam. The course was opened in May 1973 and is a favorite of the locals as well as destination golfers. Every hole is tree-lined. Out of bounds guards eleven holes, and water is found on eight holes. There are a total of 21 bunkers found throughout the course. The course is one of 11 courses on the Tennessee Golf Trail.
Hole #2, a tight dogleg right par 4, 396 yards, is the signature Hole with out of bounds protecting the entire right side of the fairway.

Pickwick Landing Golf Course is host to the St. Jude's Charity Golf Tournament and hosts several district and regional high school events during the year.

The course has bent grass greens and bermuda fairways. The course is one of the highest rated public courses in the State.

Tournament Information

Recap: Click for Recap - 2010 Champion Union University - Team Photo
Scoreboard:  Click for Results - Round One - Round Two - Final Round

TranSouth Tournament History:  | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 |  

Pickwick Dam Weather Link
Savannah, Tennessee Information
Hardin County, Tennessee Information
Course information & directions

PIckwick Landing State Park Golf Course
Park Road | PO Box 15
Pickwick Dam, TN 38365-0015

All-TranSouth/All-Tournament Awards

Team Champion - Union University
Medalist/Player of the Year - Clay Mallard, Union University
All-Tournament/All-TranSouth - Clay Mallard (Union), Joey Bradley (Trevecca), David Saldana (Trevecca), Sam Bass (Bethel), Brett Barry (Union), Dustin Thomas (Cumberland), Austin Whitmere (Cumberland)
Freshman of the Year - Brett Barry, Union University
Coach of the Year - Andy Rushing, Union  University

TranSouth Women's Golf Scholar-Athletes

Cumberland University - Dustin Thomas, Paul Vaughn, Matt Cart
Lyon College - Bradley Biggers, Aaron Crawford, Seth Johnson
Martin Methodist - Blake Moore
Trevecca Nazarene University - Skip Jones, Grant Moffett, David Saldana, Bobby Humburg, William Potts
Union University - Clay Mallard, Matt Kelley, Micah Gentle, Jake Carroll, Tyler Lay

2010 NAIA Men's Golf Championships

59th Annual NAIA Men's Golf National Championships
May 18 - 21 | TPC at Deere Run | Silvis, Ill.
Hosted by Quad Cities of Iowa and Illinois

Click for NAIA Championships Information

History of Individual Medalists

2010  Clay Mallard, Union
2009  Josh Young, Cumberland
2008  Clay Mallard, Union 
2007  Beau Brown, Bethel 
2006  Micheal Shinn, Cumberland
2005  Barry Conaster, Cumberland
2004  Roger Cook, Union 
2001  Matt Robertson, Lee 

History of Team Champions

2010  Union University
2009  Cumberland University
2008  Union University
2007  Bethel College
2006  Union University
2005  Cumberland University
2004  Lee University

Rain Policy

The completion of 18 holes will determine a team champion and individual champion if play is suspended.
If weather allows the tournament may proceed with the understanding that 9 hole increments may be used to determine a champion if all teams play the same 9 holes.
Should weather dictate the tournament to be canceled the declared winner will be the highest nationally ranked team in the tournament.
If no teams are nationally ranked the highest seed in the region will be declared the winner.